The John Staluppi Collection

1 December 2012

Lot 207

1971 Volkswagen Beetle Convertible

To be auctioned on Saturday, December 1, 2012

Sold for $26,400

  • Chassis no. 1512435410
History is important to us, and all lots offered are fully researched. All corresponding information and accessories, from certificates to tool kits, stays with the lots we sell. All of this is held at our library on site, under the Access the Knowledge banner, so please visit us there or contact us before the auction if you require further information.


Nicknamed Betsy: A VW with personality

Model 1511. 60 bhp, 1,585 cc OHV horizontally-opposed four-cylinder engine, four-speed manual transmission, torsion bar independent front and rear suspension, and front disc, rear drum hydraulic brakes. Wheelbase: 94.5 in.

The Volkswagen Beetle holds the record for the longest continuous production of a single design, and the model has stolen the hearts of countless people worldwide. One of the best-remembered is “Herbie,” the Love Bug, star of six films and a television series. Through the ensuing episodes, Herbie, bearing racing number 53, experiences motor sports, romance, intrigue, and a dip in the ocean. Eventually, he takes part in demolition derbies and NASCAR races, and ends up falling in love with a Volkswagen New Beetle.

Herbie has delighted many a moviegoer and Volkswagen enthusiast, to the point where white VeeDubs bearing number 53 have become quite common. Others, like the prior owner of this car, have made theirs distinctive in more personal ways.

Named “Betsy,” this nifty Volkswagen convertible has special Pearl Yellow paint and fully-chromed VW wheels. The car has been the subject of a personalized restoration, with a new, powder-coated engine, fender skirts, and a custom air conditioning installation. The interior is upholstered in a unique, heavy-duty, tan tweed, matching the hue of the tan canvas top. A modern stereo system provides high fidelity listening. A southwest U.S. car, Betsy is as clean as a whistle underneath and took second place at Bug-O-Rama number 28 in Phoenix.

In the 1960s, one could buy a giant plastic wind-up key with a suction cup on the end. Owners would stick these to the back window of their Beetle sedans to simulate a toy car on the highway. Betsy takes it one step further: a polished aluminum key fits into a hidden socket in the engine lid. When desired, an electric motor slowly rotates the key, just as in a real wind-up toy. Betsy is built for fun. Her new owner will enjoy plenty of it.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alain Squindo


Detroit, Michigan

Alain Squindo joined RM Auctions in 2007, after graduating from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., with a degree in History. R... read more

Alex Classick

aclassick@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Alex Classick joined RM Europe in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Nottingham University with a degree in Business Mana... read more

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Alexander Weaver joined RM Auctions in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born into ... read more

Annette Abaci

aabaci@rmauctions.com

+49 (0) 40 441 95 737
Germany

With post-secondary degrees in Economic Science and Mechanical Engineering, Annette Abaci initially worked part-time at Mercedes-Benz ... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a senior car specialist, after more than a decade in the collector car hobby... read more

Dan Warrener

dwarrener@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Possessing a degree in Economics from Brandon University, Dan Warrener spent the initial stages of his career working around the globe... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmauctions.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don Rose joined RM Auctions in 2006, after many years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputatio... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmauctions.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, USA

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord joined RM Auctions in 1998, initially responsible for the transportation and logistics of the company’s auction and restora... read more

Ian Kelleher

ikelleher@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
New York, United States

Ian Kelleher began his automotive career immediately following his graduation from Oberlin College, with a B.A. in Politica... read more

Jack Boxstrom

jboxstrom@rmauctions.com

+1 818 703 2816
Ontario, Canada

Jack Boxstrom joined RM Auctions in late-1996 to assist with the recently acquired, and subsequently record-breaking, auction in Monte... read more

Max Girardo

mgirardo@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Max Girardo started his career in the vintage automobile industry in 1998, joining Brooks Auctioneers (now Bonhams) as a car specialis... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Auctions, Mike Fairbairn has a longstanding interest in the classic car industry. Graduati... read more

Peter Wallman

pwallman@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Wallman joined RM Europe in 2007, following nearly two decades in the international advertising industry, read more

Peter Giddings

pgiddings@rmauctions.com

+1 925 831 2048
California, United States

A life-long car enthusiast, Peter joined RM’s California office with over half a century of experience in the automotive and rac... read more

Peter Blond

pblond@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Blond joined the RM Europe team in 2013 after being immersed in the collector car industry for more than 60 years. An... read more

Rob Myers

rmyers@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As chairman and founder of the RM Group of Companies, Rob Myers’s entire career has been devoted to the classic car industry. Ro... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Shelby Myers literally grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to w... read more

Vinnie Mandzak

vmandzak@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Vinnie Mandzak joined RM Auctions’ California office in 2012 as a car specialist, following more than 30 years’ experience... read more

Jeff Whiteside

jwhiteside@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Jeff Whiteside joined RM Auctions as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer following almost three decades in a diverse r... read more