Vintage Motor Cars in Arizona

28 January 2005

Lot 132

1946 Cadillac Series 62 Custom Woodie Sedan

Sold for $48,400

  • Chassis no. 8409776


150bhp 346 cu. in. overhead valve V8, Hydramatic transmission, front coil springs and rear semielliptical leaf springs and four-wheel hydraulic drum brakes. Wheelbase: 129"

For Cadillac the Series 62 was a highly successful model. The styling was ultra modern for its time with clean lines and a strong Cadillac identity. The interior was luxurious, offering the latest features and the choice of luxurious broadcloth or leather upholstery. The pricing was reasonable and as a result the Series 62 was Cadillac’s bestseller. Mechanically the cars featured Cadillac’s well proven 346 cu. in. V8 with dual downdraft carburetion. The car was renowned for being strong, quiet, and reliable, and these engines accounted in large part for Cadillac’s exemplary reputation. So dependable, in fact, that they would power most of America’s tanks in World War II.

The Series 62 went a long way to ensuring Cadillacs’ success. Following the war, the 1946 models were essentially 1942 models with detail changes. The grille and front parking lamps were somewhat altered, small dashboard details were modified and wrap-around
bumpers were added. Cadillac production was 28,144 in 1946, which increased to 59,436 in 1947, with the Series 62 as the biggest seller. Cadillac fever had hit America at this time, and in 1947 some 96,000 orders were left unfilled, an astounding statement of the popularity of these automobiles. The public's perception of the Cadillac was as a high quality,
luxurious, elegant and noteworthy automobile.

The 1946 Cadillac offered here is a unique car that has benefited from a full frame-off restoration that left nothing to chance. The 1946 Cadillac Woodie Wagon is finished in a sand color with a beautiful two-tone mahogany and ash color combination. It is complete with an appropriate wood roof rack, whitewall tires and rear fender skirts. The Cadillac has been rebuilt extensively and mechanically. We understand the Woodie runs great as it is complete with new valves, chrome, starter, generator, radiator, brakes and gas tank. Overall, this unique car is simply a great cruiser that will undoubtedly provide tons of fun on the beach or at the next Woodie meet.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alain Squindo


Detroit, Michigan

Alain Squindo joined RM Auctions in 2007, after graduating from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., with a degree in History. R... read more

Alex Classick

aclassick@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Alex Classick joined RM Europe in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Nottingham University with a degree in Business Mana... read more

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Alexander Weaver joined RM Auctions in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born into ... read more

Annette Abaci

aabaci@rmauctions.com

+49 (0) 40 441 95 737
Germany

With post-secondary degrees in Economic Science and Mechanical Engineering, Annette Abaci initially worked part-time at Mercedes-Benz ... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a senior car specialist, after more than a decade in the collector car hobby... read more

Dan Warrener

dwarrener@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Possessing a degree in Economics from Brandon University, Dan Warrener spent the initial stages of his career working around the globe... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmauctions.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don Rose joined RM Auctions in 2006, after many years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputatio... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmauctions.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, USA

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord joined RM Auctions in 1998, initially responsible for the transportation and logistics of the company’s auction and restora... read more

Ian Kelleher

ikelleher@rmauctions.com

+1 212 894 1301
New York, United States

Ian Kelleher began his automotive career immediately following his graduation from Oberlin College, with a B.A. in Political Science. ... read more

Jack Boxstrom

jboxstrom@rmauctions.com

+1 818 703 2816
Ontario, Canada

Jack Boxstrom joined RM Auctions in late-1996 to assist with the recently acquired, and subsequently record-breaking, auction in Monte... read more

Max Girardo

mgirardo@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Max Girardo started his career in the vintage automobile industry in 1998, joining Brooks Auctioneers (now Bonhams) as a car specialis... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Auctions, Mike Fairbairn has a longstanding interest in the classic car industry. Graduati... read more

Peter Wallman

pwallman@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Wallman joined RM Europe in 2007, following nearly two decades in the international advertising industry, read more

Peter Giddings

pgiddings@rmauctions.com

+1 925 831 2048
California, United States

A life-long car enthusiast, Peter joined RM’s California office with over half a century of experience in the automotive and rac... read more

Peter Blond

pblond@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Blond joined the RM Europe team in 2013 after being immersed in the collector car industry for more than 60 years. An... read more

Rob Myers

rmyers@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As chairman and founder of the RM Group of Companies, Rob Myers’s entire career has been devoted to the classic car industry. Ro... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Shelby Myers literally grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to w... read more

Vinnie Mandzak

vmandzak@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Vinnie Mandzak joined RM Auctions’ California office in 2012 as a car specialist, following more than 30 years’ experience... read more

Jeff Whiteside

jwhiteside@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Jeff Whiteside joined RM Auctions as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer following almost three decades in a diverse r... read more