The Don Davis Collection

27 April 2013

Lot 151

1966 Toyota FJ40 Land Cruiser

Sold for $88,000

  • Chassis no. FJ4041897
  • Engine no. F135


125 bhp, 235 cu. in. OHV inline six-cylinder engine, three-speed manual transmission with low range and part-time AWD, front and rear live-axle suspension with semi-elliptic springs, and four-wheel hydraulic drum brakes. Wheelbase: 90 in.

  • Toyota’s legendary off-roader
  • Fresh, authentic ground-up restoration in painstaking detail
  • Original title and owner’s, service, and engine manuals
  • Almost certainly the finest FJ40 in existence


While rivalries such as Cadillac and Lincoln, and Ferrari and Lamborghini, have become legendary in the automotive world, the saga of “Toyota Land Cruiser vs. Land Rover” is somewhat lesser-known. In the 1960s, it was no less fierce, as these two imported masters of all-terrain, both born from the inspiration of the Jeeps seen during World War II, went head-to-head in the roughest parts of the former British Empire.

By 1973, Toyota had sold 300,000 FJ40 Land Cruisers, which proved easy to handle in all sorts of situations and was incredibly reliable mechanically. Similar to the classic Range Rover, however, the classic Land Cruiser was not built for long-term survival, but to be ruggedly worn into the ground over many thousands of rough miles. Accordingly, older examples of the model are quite rare, and survivors in well-restored condition are particularly difficult to find.

Don Davis’ otherwise performance-oriented collection also includes subtle nods to his successful career as a new car dealer, and the rare, well-kept Toyotas in his stable are among these. His FJ40 hails from 1966, and it is freshly restored to concours condition—an odd term with which to describe a Land Cruiser, but appropriate. Showing 6,381 original miles, it has been taken back to “better than factory” condition throughout, with all proper and correct finishes, decals, and accessories as when new, including gear-shifting instructions on the glove box, the proper original steering wheel, and a perfect convertible top with accurate zippers, buttons, latches, and hooks. Every panel fits exquisitely, and the entire vehicle is detailed to the nines, down to its 1966 Texas black plate. It is accompanied by the original title, as well as its original owner’s, service, and engine manuals. Riding on BF Goodrich all-terrain tires, and obviously scarcely used at all since its restoration, this spotless FJ40 is ready for when the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance decides to honor the Land Cruiser…whenever that may be.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alain Squindo


Detroit, Michigan

Alain Squindo joined RM Auctions in 2007, after graduating from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., with a degree in History. R... read more

Alex Classick

aclassick@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Alex Classick joined RM Europe in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Nottingham University with a degree in Business Mana... read more

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Alexander Weaver joined RM Auctions in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born into ... read more

Annette Abaci

aabaci@rmauctions.com

+49 (0) 40 441 95 737
Germany

With post-secondary degrees in Economic Science and Mechanical Engineering, Annette Abaci initially worked part-time at Mercedes-Benz ... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a senior car specialist, after more than a decade in the collector car hobby... read more

Dan Warrener

dwarrener@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Possessing a degree in Economics from Brandon University, Dan Warrener spent the initial stages of his career working around the globe... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmauctions.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don Rose joined RM Auctions in 2006, after many years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputatio... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmauctions.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, USA

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord joined RM Auctions in 1998, initially responsible for the transportation and logistics of the company’s auction and restora... read more

Ian Kelleher

ikelleher@rmauctions.com

+1 212 894 1301
New York, United States

Ian Kelleher began his automotive career immediately following his graduation from Oberlin College, with a B.A. in Political Science. ... read more

Jack Boxstrom

jboxstrom@rmauctions.com

+1 818 703 2816
Ontario, Canada

Jack Boxstrom joined RM Auctions in late-1996 to assist with the recently acquired, and subsequently record-breaking, auction in Monte... read more

Max Girardo

mgirardo@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Max Girardo started his career in the vintage automobile industry in 1998, joining Brooks Auctioneers (now Bonhams) as a car specialis... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Auctions, Mike Fairbairn has a longstanding interest in the classic car industry. Graduati... read more

Peter Wallman

pwallman@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Wallman joined RM Europe in 2007, following nearly two decades in the international advertising industry, read more

Peter Giddings

pgiddings@rmauctions.com

+1 925 831 2048
California, United States

A life-long car enthusiast, Peter joined RM’s California office with over half a century of experience in the automotive and rac... read more

Peter Blond

pblond@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Blond joined the RM Europe team in 2013 after being immersed in the collector car industry for more than 60 years. An... read more

Rob Myers

rmyers@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As chairman and founder of the RM Group of Companies, Rob Myers’s entire career has been devoted to the classic car industry. Ro... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Shelby Myers literally grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to w... read more

Vinnie Mandzak

vmandzak@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Vinnie Mandzak joined RM Auctions’ California office in 2012 as a car specialist, following more than 30 years’ experience... read more

Jeff Whiteside

jwhiteside@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Jeff Whiteside joined RM Auctions as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer following almost three decades in a diverse r... read more